Wales' Premier Independent Rugby Platform

Rugby Club Of The Year Shortlist


NatWest RugbyForce and the Welsh Rugby Union have announced the five clubs in Wales to win a £1,000 grant courtesy of NatWest: Ammanford, Bonymaen, COBRA, Clwb Rygbi Cymry Caerdydd and Girling.

18.02.16 - WRU - Sponsors Touch Rugby - Tom Shanklin.
Which club deserves Tom Shanklin as an honorary member? Vote now!

Each club now needs to rally further support to be in with the chance of the winning the ultimate prize, Tom Shanklin as an honorary club member for a year.

Former British and Irish Lion and Wales international, Shanklin will become an honorary club member and will be on hand to help the lucky club who receives the most online votes for the duration of the 2016/2017 season.

This is a fantastic opportunity for the winning club to use the Welsh legend’s business acumen and support to make a long-term difference.

Voting is now open and supporters are asked to vote for the club they think is most deserving after watching the finalist’s videos available on the WRU website.

The clubs on the shortlist each submitted application forms outlining what they will use the grant for:

Ammanford RFC will spend their grant on a new play and games area in the club-house, hoping to make it more attractive to younger club members. They will also use the grant to support their junior section recruitment day and junior girl’s hub event on the 13th of August.

Bonymaen RFC will be using their grant to upgrade their food cabin ahead of the new season. They will also be running a junior fun day with bingo, quizzes, games and mini tag rugby on the 14th August.

COBRA (Caereinion Old Boys Rugby Association) will use their grant to build new dug-outs on their 1st team pitch and a build a base for a new porta cabin. The club will be calling on their volunteers to help with the building project.

Video removed from YouTube by user.

Clwb Rygbi Cymry Caerdydd celebrate their 50th season this year and are planning a family event on 13th August to kick-start celebrations. They will spend their grant on a secure storage space adjacent to pitches.

Girling RFC will use the grant to upgrade their changing rooms which will incorporate a bespoke area for new junior and ladies teams.

Shanklin said on the prospect of his new role with the winning club, “Away from rugby, my life now is all about talking about what you’ve got and seeing how to make the most out of it, to explore everything to its fullest potential. Whether it’s volunteers or the club house – appreciate and understand your resources and get all you can out of them. I’ve done that as a player and in business. Now I want to do it for a grassroots club.”

Voting for the Natwest Rugbyforce Club of the Year closes on Monday 13th June 2016.

A further 60 clubs from around the country, from Abergavenny to Pwllheli and from Burry Port to Bryncethin, have also won grants of £200 each after submitting plans for NatWest RugbyForce weekend at their club designed to reward committed volunteers as well as attract new ones.

The 60 clubs awarded the Natwest RugbyForce £200 grant are:
Abergavenny, Alltwen, Bridgers Girls Rugby Hub, Bryncethin, Burry Port, Caldicot, Canton, Cardiff Harlequins, Carmarthen Cefn Coed, Clwb Rygbi Bala, Clwb Rygbi angor, Clwb Rygbi Nantgaredig, Clwb Rygbi Rhos, Crymych, Crynant, Cwmavon, Cwmcarn United, Cwmtwrch, Fairwater, Fishguard & Goodwick, Garndiffaith, Glynneath, Haverfordwest, Jesters, Kenfig Hill, Knights, Llandovery, Llanharan, Llanidloes, Llantwit Fardre, Maesteg, Menai Bridge, Mold/Girls cluster, Monmouth, Maidens, Mor Ladron, Morriston, Oakdale, Old Penarthians, Penybanc, Penygroes, Pontarddulais, Pontyclun, Porthcawl, Pwllheli, Rhiwbina, Rhydyfelin, Rhymney, Seven Sisters, Skewen, Stradey Sospans girls, Talywain, Tondu, Tonna, Trebanos, Treharris, Treherbert, Valley Ravens, Whitland, Ystrad club hub to Rhondda Miners Girls Centre.

Pictured above: Tom Shanklin, centre, and WRU head of participation Ryan Jones

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.